Xbox Debian linux..

Got a software or hardware problem? Ask your questions here

Moderator: SG Admins

Post Reply
User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Xbox Debian linux..

Post by mid_gen » Mon Dec 09, 2002 2:51 pm

I've got Debian installed and running on me xbox :D bugger is I put my gateway settings in wrong during the install and I can't use apt-get until I sort it out.

An surprise surprise, I don't know what file/directory the network settings are hidden in ;)

And before you say "WHY??!", I'm just curious to see how well it runs a HL server :lol:

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Mon Dec 09, 2002 3:18 pm

I believe the settings are in /etc/sysconfig somewhere.
I can't check right now, as I left my server off when I left today....

K

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Mon Dec 09, 2002 5:07 pm

Well it appears to be in /etc/network/interfaces

Static setting doesn't appear to work, but DHCP seems to be working all fine and dandy.

rib?
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 11:01 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Post by rib? » Mon Dec 09, 2002 8:33 pm

wow! im really impressed, this could be the best half-life server to date with the power/cost ratio :) see if u can get a q3a server going :) u could run em at shotgunlan, make an excellent looking stack of servers, you could spray em white and it'll be like the SparC stations never left :)
-------------------------------------------------
|It's prostitution jim but not as we know it.|
-------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Mon Dec 09, 2002 8:38 pm

/me sobs for bungle and george.
My babies!!!
*snuffle*

K

User avatar
shrek
Ultra-pe0n
Ultra-pe0n
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Aldershot

Post by shrek » Mon Dec 09, 2002 8:43 pm

Kulgan wrote:/me sobs for bungle and george.
My babies!!!
*snuffle*

K
I gather that was the names of the SparC stations?

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Mon Dec 09, 2002 11:18 pm

*wail*

K

User avatar
shrek
Ultra-pe0n
Ultra-pe0n
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Aldershot

Post by shrek » Mon Dec 09, 2002 11:22 pm

Kulgan wrote:*wail*

K
Thats a yes then?

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Tue Dec 10, 2002 12:33 am

rib? wrote:wow! im really impressed, this could be the best half-life server to date with the power/cost ratio :) see if u can get a q3a server going :) u could run em at shotgunlan, make an excellent looking stack of servers, you could spray em white and it'll be like the SparC stations never left :)
rib has a remarkably good point there - cheap, dinky and easy DNS/DHCP/web machine? mid - can you plug a modem into it?

K

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Tue Dec 10, 2002 1:22 am

all 4 front controller ports are jus plain old USB. You can buy packs of the the little failsafe break thingies (3 for £5), which can easily be wired into a female usb socket. I've done it and my USB keyboard works fine. So if you can run a USB modem ok in linux then the answer is yes.

You get a lot of machine for your money, cos the hardware is so heavily subsidised by the software.

mobile celeron 733, 64mb ram (on stupidly fast BUS), ca. 4Gb of useable HDD space, and a DVD drive for £160

The linux install is a dodgy bootstrap one, you need a boot cd in the drive to fire it up, but it ain't an issue for a server box really, you could do a full install if you weren't bothered about having a partition available for other xbox homebrew goodness.

rib?
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 11:01 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Post by rib? » Tue Dec 10, 2002 12:06 pm

tell me more about this then, surely an xbox has a nic installed? how else did we play halo last time :) what "linux xbox" sites do you recommend?

surely if it can run a flavour of linux off a hard drive with a boot cd and be quite stable then it could run a Q3a server on a LAN?

Rib?
-------------------------------------------------
|It's prostitution jim but not as we know it.|
-------------------------------------------------

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Tue Dec 10, 2002 12:53 pm

http://xbox-linux.sourceforge.net

is the distro I'm using.

I've got a HL server installed on it now, but I just realised I got 1500 word essay due in 2 hours so I'd better do some work before I start it up :)

User avatar
shrek
Ultra-pe0n
Ultra-pe0n
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Aldershot

Post by shrek » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:56 pm

rib? wrote:tell me more about this then, surely an xbox has a nic installed? how else did we play halo last time :)
Yeah its got a ethernet port on the back of the machine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest