Laptop NICs

Got a software or hardware problem? Ask your questions here

Moderator: SG Admins

Post Reply
User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Laptop NICs

Post by mid_gen » Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:15 pm

Right, been a long time since I've used a laptop.

What I want is an 802.11a/b card for me laptop, which has a single PC card slot.

I've seen this :

http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?acti ... ID=12&s=pl

Wtf is CardBus? I remember when if it said 'PCMCIA' then it worked in a laptop..sigh..

(slightly confused about that adapter, it's not clear whether it supports 802.11b as well as 802.11a..hmmm)

Anyone reccomend a decent 802.11 card 'for a laptop' :D

User avatar
Phaliure
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: London

Post by Phaliure » Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:49 pm

Copy this into your address bar,

From dabs,

ot a well known make but is nice an cheap (will do the job)

javascript:openwin('/products/prod-info.asp?quicklinx=15MH','prodwin')
Phaliure
I'd rather be scared to death than bored to death

User avatar
uatec
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 10:17 pm
Location: Newcastle
Contact:

Post by uatec » Mon Dec 30, 2002 11:02 am

you fool
http://www.dabs.com/products/prod-info. ... klinx=15MH

you cannot call internal page javascript functions from the address bar...
Moo!

User avatar
PeteTheHair
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by PeteTheHair » Mon Dec 30, 2002 12:58 pm

Can you get a and b in one card? If you can, it's gonna be pricey, cos they operate on entirely different frequencies and crap...

Incidentally, I got a Compaq 802.11b card (WL110, basically a rebranded orinocco card, which are great) if anyone wants it... boxed with all it's stuff for £50 quid ono. Guaranteed working in Windows, Linux, Netstumbler and all associated crap, cos the orinocco chipset is one of the best supported out there atm...
Pete
"If at first you don't succeed, call it Version 1"

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Mon Dec 30, 2002 1:33 pm

Rightyho, mightily tempted by the Intel Pro 5000 802.11a NIC and accesspoint. Not cheap, but then neither's the laptop and I can tack it on as an 'accessory', or something.

Am I right in thinking that not only is 802.11a faster (54Mbps), it's a lot better in general as it used a much less congested frequency range.

User avatar
PeteTheHair
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by PeteTheHair » Mon Dec 30, 2002 3:14 pm

11a uses the 5Ghz frequencies, which basically means it's quicker, but far more susceptable to noise and getting blocked by walls, etc. Tis also not yet nearly as well supported... all the stuff going in commuity networks, pubs, starbucks, etc is b.
Pete
"If at first you don't succeed, call it Version 1"

User avatar
Chief
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:27 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Chief » Mon Dec 30, 2002 3:46 pm

indeed.
b is the one to get if you want solid stuff


im working off a point to point bridge using b..
solid, no problems - with a range of 90 meters, im getting speeds of 5.5megs (this is going over a road too with double decker busses!)

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Mon Dec 30, 2002 7:06 pm

Rightyho, me flatmate has a Belkin 802.11b access point downstairs, and he struggled to get a signal in my upstairs room, but that was using a cheapy Buffalo CF thing on his pocketPC. More interested in getting a good solid signal all around my house, at uni and at home. 802.11b it is then :)

User avatar
Chief
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:27 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Chief » Mon Dec 30, 2002 7:09 pm

you will find that the stronger the card in the device is.. the better the reception

of course, im using 2 linksys base stations to bridge together.. so range/power isnt really a problem.

i havnt tried it on my lappy. if you bring a base station this weekend, we can play with my laptop :wink:

User avatar
Chief
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:27 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Chief » Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:33 am

another type of wireless is 802.11g, which operates at the same frequency as b, but is the faster 54mbs version, and the news on thereg is that its out overhere (finally) in january. http://www.theregister.co.uk/content/59/28701.html

lookin good - may have to see if i can get bridging on those babies :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest