LAN Help. Wont Recieve

Got a software or hardware problem? Ask your questions here

Moderator: SG Admins

Post Reply
cyper
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:12 am

LAN Help. Wont Recieve

Post by cyper » Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:21 am

Me and a friend are trying to connect our two computers together over lan.
Our computers connect together, but we cant actaully send anything to each other.
When we try to ping each other, the connection times out.
Our ip address's all work. We are sending, but not recieving.
Please help

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Fri Jun 27, 2003 9:45 am

If you're connecting via a hub, use normal CAT5 cables, if you're connecting directly, make sure you're using a crossover CAT5 cable.

Make sure you both have IP addresses in the range 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.255, and both have subnet masks of 255.255.255.0

Trying pinging the loopback device on both machines. ping 127.0.0.1

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:58 am

Yea, what mid_gen said ^_^
mid_gen wrote:Trying pinging the loopback device on both machines. ping 127.0.0.1
Would you explain this, to those of us who are desperately trying to figure out why pinging through a different interface is relevant?

K

User avatar
PeteTheHair
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by PeteTheHair » Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:09 pm

Kulgan wrote: Would you explain this, to those of us who are desperately trying to figure out why pinging through a different interface is relevant?
Cos it shows that the TCP stack is up and running... If this works, the cabling is likely to be suspect....

How many LANs you run? :)
Pete
"If at first you don't succeed, call it Version 1"

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:20 pm

Um. PING uses the ICMP protocol, not TCP/IP.
Unless I'm mistaken...

K

User avatar
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen » Fri Jun 27, 2003 5:24 pm

I've always found pinging the loopback device is pretty good way to determine if the windows network stack is ok.

Are you sure ICMP isn't part of the TCP/IP protocol suite?

putty_thing
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 12:35 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Post by putty_thing » Sun Jul 06, 2003 12:42 am

afaik, icmp is indeed part of ip

in addition to what the other guys suggested, i'd recommend checking for firewalls on either end (lots will reject even a simple ping, winxp has one built in) and more basically, check you've got a link :)

User avatar
Chief
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:27 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Chief » Sun Jul 06, 2003 2:30 am

99% sure its cos they arnt using a crossover.
icmp is at the same level as tcp and udp (although it uses udp).
chances of the stack being offline/shitty are low - its most likley the cable.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests