ADSL Router

Got a software or hardware problem? Ask your questions here

Moderator: SG Admins

Post Reply
BoredAtWork
Bitchin'-pe0n
Bitchin'-pe0n
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:49 pm
Location: In a spaceship

ADSL Router

Post by BoredAtWork » Thu Dec 04, 2003 11:55 am

Need to get one of these things so that I can play games and Jamie can download porn :P

Is this one any good?

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products ... 5295#pinfo

Seemed like a good idea to get a modem/router/switch/firewall....

Cheers

Paul

mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Post by mr blonde » Thu Dec 04, 2003 12:01 pm

Bitch....
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

BoredAtWork
Bitchin'-pe0n
Bitchin'-pe0n
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:49 pm
Location: In a spaceship

Post by BoredAtWork » Thu Dec 04, 2003 12:36 pm

One word reply!

BAN HIM! BAN HIM! BAN HIM!

mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Post by mr blonde » Thu Dec 04, 2003 1:02 pm

Ah well if i get banned it wont make much difference! 13 posts in 1 year, that must be a record!
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Post by mr blonde » Thu Dec 04, 2003 1:04 pm

...anyway, ban him is a 2 word reply not a 1 word, so ner!
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

BoredAtWork
Bitchin'-pe0n
Bitchin'-pe0n
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:49 pm
Location: In a spaceship

Post by BoredAtWork » Thu Dec 04, 2003 2:16 pm

WTF are you talking about?
Bitch....
Is a one word reply :shock:

Dumbass :twisted:

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Re: ADSL Router

Post by Kulgan » Thu Dec 04, 2003 3:24 pm

BoredAtWork wrote:Is this one any good?
Well... if you've got a Cable connection it'll work, but don't try it with ADSL.
Besides, it's a little steep...

K

BoredAtWork
Bitchin'-pe0n
Bitchin'-pe0n
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:49 pm
Location: In a spaceship

Post by BoredAtWork » Thu Dec 04, 2003 4:53 pm

Why not with ADSL?

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Thu Dec 04, 2003 5:35 pm

BoredAtWork wrote:Why not with ADSL?
Cable and DSL provide you with an ethernet interface, whereas with ADSL you need an ADSL modem built into the unit to plug into the phoneline.

K

mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Post by mr blonde » Fri Dec 05, 2003 8:44 am

We are getting an ADSL modem to go with it, but Paul was informed that the ADSL modem would only have a USB connection.... apparently this has something to do with keeping the IP address down to a minimum so that only 1 computer gets bombed by hackers!!! How acurate is this??? Am i right or way off track as usual!?
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

User avatar
Kulgan
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 12:02 pm
Location: Winchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Kulgan » Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:29 am

mr blonde wrote:We are getting an ADSL modem to go with it, but Paul was informed that the ADSL modem would only have a USB connection.... apparently this has something to do with keeping the IP address down to a minimum so that only 1 computer gets bombed by hackers!!! How acurate is this??? Am i right or way off track as usual!?
Well... having a USB modem /forces/ you to have a PC connected to it running as a NAT router, and thus only one computer is physically connected. The security benefits come more from the inherent properties of NAT than the USB-ness, frankly.
It's probably better to pay a little more for an ADSL /router/ - one that does NAT itself. The Solwise stuff is generally fairly reasonable and effective - http://www.solwise.co.uk/modems.htm. A router will typically have an ADSL connection, a LAN connection, may run DHCP, and you just it as the default router for your LAN. And everything works.

K

BoredAtWork
Bitchin'-pe0n
Bitchin'-pe0n
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:49 pm
Location: In a spaceship

Post by BoredAtWork » Fri Dec 05, 2003 12:19 pm

I'm no doubt being thick here but.....

Doesn't the router I looked at do everything you just mentioned. I thought it was a modem/router/switch and firewall. Could you tell which of these it isn't? I thought we wouldn't need any additional hardware as this was all built in?

Also the Solwise stuff looked pretty expensive....

Thanks

Paul

User avatar
Seahorse
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 1:32 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Post by Seahorse » Fri Dec 05, 2003 12:42 pm

Just get the ADSL modem they supply and make sure its Ethernet. Slap that into a cheapo Router which does the rest. Netgear make decent kit cheap...
"And regrettably your planet is one of those scheduled for demolition"

Rgds
Mike
Dead-Fish, Deep Sea Daddies...

My DVDs

BoredAtWork
Bitchin'-pe0n
Bitchin'-pe0n
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 2:49 pm
Location: In a spaceship

Post by BoredAtWork » Fri Dec 05, 2003 1:00 pm

Just worked it out for myself!

Just ordered a Netgear thingy as Mr Seahorse suggested!

Thanks for the help as well Nick.

Only 4 days to go 8)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest