Command Prompt Win 98

Got a software or hardware problem? Ask your questions here

Moderator: SG Admins

Post Reply
mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Command Prompt Win 98

Post by mr blonde » Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:19 am

Dudes,

How do you get the command prompt open in Win 98. The usual cmd command in "run" doesnt work and there is no link in accesories. Any sugguestions???
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

rib?
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 11:01 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Post by rib? » Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:10 pm

try "command"
-------------------------------------------------
|It's prostitution jim but not as we know it.|
-------------------------------------------------

User avatar
dogmeat
Mega-pe0n
Mega-pe0n
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 1:23 pm
Location: Upper Volta
Contact:

Post by dogmeat » Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:35 pm

rib? wrote:try "command"
Heh :)

mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Post by mr blonde » Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:00 pm

Nope, try again ribbo :tut: :naughty:
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

rib?
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 11:01 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Post by rib? » Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:19 pm

um, think you'll find on a standard 98 build it is mate, as it's full name is "command.com" :D

goto mycomp->c:\->command.com and double-click.. it should bring up a dos prompt.. if not then yer machines got problems :D

as far as i know "cmd" only worked in NT/2k/xp and maybe ME but not 98, at least not on standard 98builds.

Ribbo
-------------------------------------------------
|It's prostitution jim but not as we know it.|
-------------------------------------------------

User avatar
ZiK
Ultra-pe0n
Ultra-pe0n
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:07 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by ZiK » Wed Feb 11, 2004 5:58 pm

all NT builds use CMD to reach an NT command prompt. From the ealiest versions of Windows up until WinME it is COMMAND. If you typed COMMAND and a window didn't appear then i suggest you get the .com file :P

mr blonde
pe0n
pe0n
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:43 pm
Location: Near to some of you, far away from others

Post by mr blonde » Sun Feb 15, 2004 9:45 am

Cheers guys. I was asking for someone else and he says thanks too. We were a bit confused that we couldnt get it too run, but it turns out there was a virus on his machine which was deleting important files!
The debate continues...
Who is more attractive?
Wilma or Betty?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests