www.the-midfield.com

For all your random waffle

Moderators: Seahorse, SG Admins

Post Reply
rib?
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 11:01 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

www.the-midfield.com

Post by rib? »

middie, your site down?
-------------------------------------------------
|It's prostitution jim but not as we know it.|
-------------------------------------------------
LazyManc
Ultra-pe0n
Ultra-pe0n
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Hull
Contact:

Post by LazyManc »

I think hes in the process of moving over to new hosting.
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen »

It's moved to new hosting, but I'm going to change a lot of the back-end of the site before I put it up again. Must put some kind of holding page on there...
rib?
Uber-pe0n
Uber-pe0n
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 11:01 am
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Post by rib? »

chris, your menubars look the dogs.. gimme the code or i'll spill ink over your coursework (the old schooldays threat should do the trick!) :twisted:
-------------------------------------------------
|It's prostitution jim but not as we know it.|
-------------------------------------------------
mid_gen
LAN Admin-Monkey
LAN Admin-Monkey
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 4:49 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Contact:

Post by mid_gen »

tis just a bit of CSS

Code: Select all

#Menu a 
{
  color : #000;
  display: block;
  margin : 5px;
  padding: 5px;
  background : #bcd;
  border: 1px solid #000;
  text-decoration: none;
  background-image: url('images/hborder.gif');
  background-repeat : repeat-x;
  white-space: nowrap;
}

#Menu a:hover 
{
  color : #FFF;
  background-image: url('images/hborderover.gif');
}
Then just pop your menu into a div :

Code: Select all

<div id="menu">
  <a href="./arse.htm">arse</a>
</div>
Just use a 1-pixel wide gradient image to your desired height and rotate it 180 for the rollover.

If anyone knows a way to make the rollover image pre-load then I'd like to know, the pause when you first hover over a button is a tad annoying.

moo.
eclipse
Ultra-pe0n
Ultra-pe0n
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:15 pm

Post by eclipse »

mid_gen wrote:If anyone knows a way to make the rollover image pre-load then I'd like to know, the pause when you first hover over a button is a tad annoying.

moo.
I believe all you need to do is use a bit of javascript.
stick this in your <head> section.

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
if &#40;document.images&#41;
	&#123;
	a = new Image&#40;width, height&#41;
	a.src = "filename" 
	&#125;
</script>
replace width, height and filename with the obvious, and that should work! enjoy :)
Post Reply